I just looked up.

While reading King’s Cross by Tim Keller one evening, I looked up and realized the sun was setting, and its light was casting a warm glow over the room.

Beauty was all around me, and I almost missed it.

God has been gently taking me by the chin lately, and trying to show me His beauty.  I keep turning my head towards all the other things I want my affirmation from.  King’s Cross, conversations with other women, friend’s struggles and God knows what else is turning me inside out.  Pastor T asked us last week if we’ve ever had a moment when we felt pierced through for what Jesus has done for us.   I think I am coming to a closer understanding of it now, as the gospel continues to trickle from my head to my heart.

Are you living with a specific failure in your past that you feel guilty about and that you have spent your life trying to make up for?  Or perhaps you are more like Kafka:  not particularly religious, not especially immoral, yet you’re fighting that sense of your own inconsequentiality.  You might be doing it through religion or politics or beauty.  You might even be doing it through Christian ministry.  Doing, doing, doing from the outside in.  It won’t work.

Cast your deadly “doing” down-

Down at Jesus’ feet;

Stand in Him, in Him alone,

Gloriously complete.

King’s Cross, pg 84

Leave a comment