DPP 7: Feathery.

DPP 7-043

This little pheasant feather must have fallen out of Marcus’ coat after his hunting trip, and I was marveling at it this morning.  Rebecca and I studied flying creatures a couple years ago, and we were floored by the intricacy of a single feather.  The main shaft of a feather is called a rachis.  Attached to the rachis are barbs.  Barbules branch out from the barbs, of course, and little hooks (barbicels) hold the barbs next to each other.  The downy part of feathers have no barbicels, hence, their fluffiness.  Why fluffiness?  Because this allows air to be trapped next to the bird’s skin, providing excellent insulation.

I could go on and on, but this is a photo project, not a feather lesson.  The main thing I have learned through my elementary study of science, from the vast universe to a seemingly insignificant feather?  There is nowhere we can escape God’s glory.

One thought on “DPP 7: Feathery.

Leave a comment